Revised 2020 Formula 1 Season

The much anticipated 2020 Formula 1 season is finally getting underway next month following its postponement due to the global coronavirus pandemic, starting with the Austrian Grand Prix at The Red Bull Ring on Sunday 5th July.

The first eight races have now been confirmed with the FIA but as things stand at the moment and in line with many other sports that are starting up again, the initial Grand Prix will be closed events with no fans able to watch the races live at the circuits.

As things stand at the moment, the second round of the 2020 championship will take place on 12th July, again at The Red Bull Ring in Austria. The third race will be the Hungarian Grand Prix at The Hungaroring on Sunday 19th July.

The British Grand Prix will be taking place at Silverstone on 2nd August and then a week later, Silverstone will again host the Emirates Formula One 70th Anniversary Grand Prix. The sixth race of the season will be the Spanish Grand Prix on Sunday 16th August at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya. Then the Belgian Grand Prix will then take place on 30th August at Spa-Francorchamps, with the Italian Grand Prix rounding off the first eight races, taking place a week later on Sunday 6th September at Monza.

With the COVID-19 situation being so fluid, it is hoped that the remainder of the season’s calendar can be published soon and Formula 1 hopes to hold somewhere between 15 to 18 races this year, with the season ending in December.

Naturally Formula 1 is working closely with each local race circuit, the FIA and all the Formula 1 teams to create the revised 2020 race calendar and has already put in place detailed guidelines to ensure the health and safety of everyone involved in the sport.

Photo credit: McLaren